dana-dowse

Dana Dowse, Judicial Administration Fellowship Program, Class of 14-15

Dana Dowse participated in the 2014-2015 Judicial Administration Fellowship; where she was placed at the Alameda Superior Court.  She graduated from the University of San Diego with a B.S. in International Relations and a B.A. in Business Economics.   After the Judicial Administration Fellowship, she served as the 2015-2016 Federal-State Relations fellow in Washington DC at the California Institute for Federal Policy Research.  At the California Institute, she was able to take advantage of MaryBeth Sullivan’s wealth of knowledge of the inner workings of Washington DC.  Living in Washington DC and working for the Institute also meant that there were always briefings, events, and various other learning and networking opportunities to take advantage of.  Dana has since moved back to Los Angeles and now works at the Los Angeles Superior Court as a Management Analyst.  In her role as a Management Analyst, she works primarily with Court’s ADR (Alternative Dispute Resolution) consultant.  The team is focused on creating proposals to improve education and case flow in a way that encourages negotiation, settlement, and other pretrial resolutions.

 

“Through the Judicial Administration Fellowship, my eyes were opened to a large spectrum of opportunities and policy issues.  California is one of the largest and most diverse states and the Fellowship is an unparalleled opportunity to learn about the State and the diversity of social justice issues facing its population in different regions.  Our academic seminars allowed us to compare experiences from different courts and counties and I was always surprised to see how the same issue might play out differently in different courts due to differences in court culture or the county’s needs.  I truly believe that anyone who has participated in this fellowship is better equipped to think critically about policy decisions and the potential implications for stakeholders.  From my first day as a fellow in the Alameda Superior Court I was given full access and I felt like I served a valuable role working on projects that would contribute to the administration of justice.  My experience working in Alameda and with my mentor was integral to feeling prepared to transition to my new role at the Los Angeles Superior Court.  Finally, and most importantly, I am grateful for the lifelong contacts and friends I made throughout my fellowship experiences.  Everyone I met through the fellowship was always willing and eager to help me in my personal and professional goals and I am happy to have a strong network of people that are passionate about contributing to the world around them.”

